Mo Gilligan and Julie Adenuga to host Rated Awards


MO GILLIGAN and Julie Adenuga have been announced as the hosts of this year’s GRM Daily Rated Awards.

The ceremony will take place online on 9 September and stream exclusively on YouTube and

Kano, Dizzee Rascal, George the Poet and M Huncho are all set to perform at the event.

There will also be performances from a variety of upcoming artists including Ivorian Doll and Br3nya.

Adenuga, who returns as co-host alongside Gilligan, said: “I’m honoured to be back hosting the GRM Rated Awards with my favourite co-host ever, Mo the Comedian! I’m looking forward to being part of a night of celebration & entertainment for UK music supporters all around the world.” 

Gilligan said: “GRM have always supported me and I feel very proud to be hosting The Rated Awards again with phenomenal Julie Adenuga!”

Returning for its fifth year and for the first time since Young Spray was stabbed at the event in 2018, this year’s GRM Daily Rated Awards will feature 10 categories and aim to honour some of the biggest names in the UK’s black music scene.

While this year’s ceremony will be different due to the COVID-19 outbreak, organisers say it will be an “immersive experience” that captures the “vibrancy and diversity of the scene like no other award show”.

Posty, founder and CEO of GRM Daily said: “We’re back for a very special fifth edition of the Rated Awards. Really looking forward to everyone at home sharing the moment after a year of amazing achievements.”

Stormzy and Manchester rapper Aitch and lead the nominations for the 2020 Rated Awards with four each.

Both Stormzy and Aitch are up for male artist, track of the year, video of the year and album of the year.

J Hus, AJ Tracey, Headie One, Kano and Krept & Konan, have all also received numerous nominations this year.

Cadet has received a posthumous nomination for his album The Rated Legend.

Darkoo, who is up for three awards, leads the nominations for female artists. She is the only female musician nominated outside the female artist of the year category.

No Signal Radio’s Henrie Kwushue is nominated in the radio DJ of the year category alongside Dotty, Snoochie Shy, Tiffany Calver and Yinka & Shayna Marie.

Charlie Sloth, Semtex and DJ Target have also been nominated.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here