Current track



Current show

Back 2 Da Future

11:00 13:00


Daft Punk’s ‘Random Access Memories’ to Get ‘Drumless’ Version – Billboard

Written by on 28/09/2023

If you’ve ever wondered what “Get Lucky” or “Fragments of Time” would sound like without percussion, you’re in luck. Daft Punk announced on Thursday (Sept. 28) that a “drumless” version of its 2013 classic Random Access Memories is coming Nov. 17.



See latest videos, charts and news

See latest videos, charts and news

Coming as part of the extended celebrations for the album’s 10-year anniversary, this reworked version of Random Access Memories is offering a preview now with a percussion-free version of “Within.” This new take highlights the song’s evocative piano-playing from Chilly Gonzalez.

Random Access Memories debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 upon its May 2013 release, ultimately spending 56 weeks on the chart. The album also hit No. 1 on Dance/Electronic Albums upon its release. It also nabbed the Grammy for album of the year in 2014.

The album’s 10th anniversary edition, which contains nine extra tracks, returned to No. 1 on Dance/Electronic Albums when it arrived in May. The new edition of Random Access Memories includes 35 minutes of additional material across nine tracks, including unreleased demos and studio outtakes. The CD set includes a 20-page digital booklet, while the vinyl set includes a special Lose Yourself to Dance poster and 16-page booklet.

Daft Punk, Random Access Memories Drumless

The anniversary celebrations have also included the Memory Tapes series, with album collaborators including Julian Casablancas, Chilly Gonzales, DJ Falcon and Todd Edwards reflecting on the making of the LP. Episodes with Pharrell Williams, Nile Rodgers and Paul Williams and Chris Caswell are forthcoming.

Pre-orders for Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition) are available now.

Source link